Beans/ Legumes / Lunch / Pasta / Soup / Vegan

Minestrone Verde Soup

minestrone verde

Goodness in a bowl!

As some of you may know (especially if you follow me on facebook!) I’ve been super busy over the last few weeks moving house! The weekend we set aside to move got taken over by a horrible case of the flu which resulted in us cancelling all our plans including our wedding anniversary and taking refuge on the sofa with films and blankets. So we’re still surrounded by boxes with half our stuff in the new house and half in the old but the end is near!! All being well, we can move in on Wednesday 🙂

With the kitchen being mostly packed up and the work surfaces covered in things needing to be packed I haven’t done much cooking! The freezer has been our source of dinners and I am afraid oven chips have been a regular feature! I started to feel so run down and exhausted and I knew I needed a vegetable hit, so I decided to make a huge batch of soup that I can grab when I need something comforting and filling but more healthy than the breaded things with chips I’ve been fuelling myself on.

I have made Minestrone verde a few times in the past with different vegetables but this version is my favourite. The concept is the same – soup with rustic vegetables, beans, pasta and herbs but instead of tomato based you use lots of wonderful green veggies in a garlic broth. The cabbage and cauliflower are delicious autumn/winter vegetables and perfect to add some different textures to the soup!

Serves 6

1 Onion
1/2 Cauliflower
1/2 Savoy Cabbage
2 Celery Sticks
2 Garlic Cloves
1 tspn Dried Oregano
Bunch Tarragon
150g Small Pasta such as macaroni or conchiglie (use gluten free versions to make it allergy friendly)
1 Can Cannelini or Butter beans
1.5 litres Vegetable Stock
100g Spinach
1/2 Lemon (Juice)

Finely dice the onion, cut the cauliflower into small florets, shred the cabbage, slice the celery and crush the garlic. Pop it all in a large saucepan with a glug of olive oil and soften for 6-10 minutes until slightly golden and wilted.

Add the dried and fresh herbs and give it a good stir then add the pasta, beans and stock and cook for 15 minutes on a simmer with the lid on.

Add the spinach and lemon juice, stir until the spinach has wilted then taste to check the seasoning. I sometimes find I like to put a couple of stock cubes in if I am making a large soup to get a slightly stronger flavour!

Serve hot and enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Minestrone Verde Soup

  1. I love simple hearty soup that you can ladle hot and steaming from a large cauldron into whatever you have handy (bowl, mug, wellington boot…) to be consumed with pink cheeked gusto whilst wearing a beanie with a pom-pom on it and a pair of mittens. Nothing like mittens to challenge when you are trying to eat ;). Add some gorgeous homemade bread and this is a feast for an autumnal soul 🙂

      • Soup is soul food :). Although, my soup hating son calls it “foods last chance to be eaten” so I guess it depends on what side of the soupy fence you have invested your particular kayak of happiness ;). Hope the move went well and you are happy in your new space. It won’t take it long to feel like home 🙂

I love hearing what you all have to say!

