Fruit / Gluten Free / Puddings / Vegan / Vegan MoFo

Lemon, Mint and Raspberry Sorbet – Vegan MoFo 2014

raspberry sorbet
I always order sorbet instead of ice cream because it’s easier on my dairy hating stomach. Usually my favourite is lemon sorbet with a shot of vodka poured over it 🙂 but today I left out the vodka and instead added some fragrant mint and sweet raspberries.

I don’t know about you but I find after a meal I ALWAYS have room for a freezing cold pudding such as sorbet. It soothes the stuffed tummy and gives me energy again!

As you can see my sorbet came out a bit icy however the texture once in your mouth is very smooth so I didn’t mind. You can make it smoother by making it in an ice cream maker or by freezing it then blending it then freezing it again.

raspberry sorbet2
The flavours are sweet with a hint of sharpness from the lemon and freshness from the mint. I loved the bright colour from the raspberries and I felt it was then a nice surprise to have such a lemony flavour.

Serves 6

5 Lemons
1 Large bunch Mint leaves
1 Cup Boiling Water
3/4 Cup Agave Syrup
1 Cup Raspberries

Using a vegetable peeler take strips of zest from 1 lemon and place them in a bowl with the mint and boiling water and leave to infuse for 30-60 mins.

Drain the water into another bowl and add the syrup and the juice of all 5 lemons (approx 1 cup juice).

Puree the raspberries and add to the bowl. Stir to combine then pop in the freezer for at least 2 hours.

raspberry sorbet3I hope you are all enjoying my pudding feature 🙂 I’m really enjoying exploring new techniques and flavours although I’m getting pretty over run with it so we’ll see how it goes!!

What is your favourite flavour sorbet?

veganmofo2014

2 thoughts on “Lemon, Mint and Raspberry Sorbet – Vegan MoFo 2014

I love hearing what you all have to say!

