Cakes / Fruit / Gluten Free / Puddings / Vegan / Vegan MoFo

Banoffee Pie – Vegan and Gluten Free – Vegan MoFo 2014

Banoffee Pie
Now this is what I call a proper pudding! Rich, indulgent, belly busting and totally delicious! I decided to do a switch-a-roo job on this classic pud and instead of making it raw or super healthy I simply switched a traditional all butter biscuit base for a dairy and gluten free biscuit base!

I made the caramel from dates instead of sugar though as I really don’t like the idea of cooking sugar in a pan. It sounds dangerous, hot and messy! To top it off I was really impressed with how well coconut cream whipped, it became soft and smooth and perfect for this pie.

Banoffee Pie2
This pudding definitely tastes like the real deal, even the coconut cream topping felt like it belonged (which I wasn’t sure it would, even though I love coconut).

I have a confession, healthy people and people with self control please look away now……. After photographing this I ate a huge, HUGE, slice of pie… Before my dinner!

It was an innocent mistake. I blame the fork!

I photographed this beautiful gooey, sweet pie and then thought “Well I should really try it incase its horrible and I’m wasting time taking pics” (as if!). So I took one bite of the slice. Then another. Then I blacked out and when I awoke 10 seconds later the slice had gone. This is definitely one to take to work/ friends/ family asap to save myself.

Banoffee Pie3
Serves 8-10

Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Vegan, Moreish

300g Dairy and Gluten free biscuits (I used free from digestives)
85g Dairy Free Butter (I used Pure Sunflower)

14 dates
1 heaped tspn Almond Butter
1/2 Cup Almond Milk
Splash Vanilla Essence

2 Large Bananas
1 Can Coconut Cream (this will need to be refrigerated over night)
Vegan Choc Sprinkles or grated dark chocolate

*Put your can of coconut cream in the fridge over night*

In a food processor blitz the biscuits until they resemble a fine crumb. Melt the butter then pour it into the processor and mix with the biscuits.

Tip the now wet biscuit crumb into a greased cake tin or pie dish and press down to line the bottom of the tin.

Blend together the dates, almond butter, almond milk and vanilla until smooth. It should be thick and gooey and not too runny.

Pour the caramel onto the biscuit base and spread out for an even covering.

Peel and slice your bananas into coins and put a layer of sliced banana evenly over the caramel.

Take your can of coconut milk out of the fridge and open it up. Scoop the firm cream out of the top and put it in a bowl (keep the water for another recipe), add a splash of vanilla to the bowl and then whisk it until it is soft and forms peaks.

Spoon the coconut cream on top of the banana layer and smooth down gently with the back of a spoon or a spatula.

Sprinkle over grated dark choc or chocolate sprinkles and serve chilled!

Banoffee Pie4
I feel like this is proof that ANYTHING can be made vegan 🙂

veganmofo2014

I’ve shared this over at the Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck hosted by Annie from An Unrefined Vegan and Poppy from Bunny Kitchen! Click here to see the whole party!

25 thoughts on “Banoffee Pie – Vegan and Gluten Free – Vegan MoFo 2014

  1. Pingback: Vegan MoFo 2014 Round-Up! | Vegan Nom Noms

  2. Pingback: Virtual Vegan LINKY Potluck 13 « anunrefinedvegan

  3. Pingback: Virtual Vegan *Linky* Potluck Part 13 | Bunny Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Sunday Seven (Mofo #13) – Second Roundup! | Vegan Beckles

  5. Oh my this looks absolutely fantastic! I’ve been meaning to make it myself for aaaages, ever since I had some over 15 years ago in my non-vegan days in England. Saving this recipe!

  6. Pingback: Vegan MoFo Roundup #2 My Favorites This Week! - Vegetarian Snob

  7. At last a banoffee pie I can eat!

    I used to make trays of these when I worked in a veggie restaurant, along with boiling tins of condensed milk for the toffee, but have never eaten one.
    Thanks!

  8. As I always say, eat dessert first — because you never know when you’re going to die. 😉

    I’ve never had banoffee pie before, but I should make definitely make this for my best friend, whose favorite kind is banana cream. If I eat half of it myself, it’ll just be because I don’t want him to have to worry about leftovers, right?

I love hearing what you all have to say!

