Eggs

A recipe round up of my Fave Eggy Recipes and Vegan Versions – British Egg Week

It’s been British Egg week this week so I decided to share with you some of my favourite eggy recipes from Veghotpot. But also I wanted to share with you the vegan options that stand proud next to them. Food for everyone! πŸ™‚

Sorry for the rather long break in posts, I didn’t get eaten by banoffee pie I promise, although it did defeat me in the end! I realised taking on a month long pudding challenge when I really don’t have a sweet tooth was always going to leave me stumped in the end. I’ve got some things going on and unfortunately haven’t been in the kitchen for a while but I am still here πŸ™‚ Still reading and collecting ideas and working on a fun new project!

Here is my recipe round up – click on the photos to see the recipes πŸ™‚

A Beany Brunch – With Eggs or without!

I love anything beany in the mornings, especially tomatoey baked beans with gooey eggs and plenty of crusty bread. Here is a recipe celebrating the almighty egg, baked into some Mexican flavoured beans and tomatoes. Dip your bread in and enjoy!

And not to leave out the non egg lovers, here are my perfect home made baked beans! Ok opening a can is dead simple but these stodgy baked beans made with sweet potato are much more satisfying!

Mexican Baked Eggs

Mexican Baked Eggs

Home made Baked Beans

Home made Baked Beans

Baked Goodies – Eggs or Avocado

Another baked eggs recipe but this time in individual portions and surrounded by beautifully seasonal mushrooms and spinach. The sweet egg really compliments the earthy flavours and goes perfectly with some sour dough toast!

Why not substitute the eggs for avocado. Baked avocado might not be a common recipe but it sure is delicious and again the creamy avocado goes lovely with the mushrooms.

Baked Avocado (Vega version of Baked Eggs)

Baked Eggs or Avocado

Egg Fried Quinoa – Or just fried quinoa!

This is a really popular recipe that works perfectly with a chopped omelette stirred in or not. Quinoa is a good source of protein any way so you can either give it a power punch with the egg or you can enjoy it knowing you are still getting those protein levels in, and a few of your 5 a day!

Egg Fried Quinoa

Egg Fried Quinoa

Tortilla – Simplicity using eggs or Tofu

Tortilla is one of my favourite ways to use eggs. I just love egg and potato together, its rustic and wholesome and very delicious. I added fennel to jazz up a really simple recipe but there are loads of variations you can try! Why not add sauteed greens, or peppers or even make it a full blown English Breakfast tortilla?

If you don’t eat eggs then don’t worry, this Spanish favourite can be made with a vegan favourite – tofu! I gave mine a typically English twist with garden peas and delicate pea shoots. Again, play with flavours and experiment with this animal friendly recipe.

Rustic Potato and Fennel Tortilla

Rustic Potato and Fennel Tortilla

Garden Pea Tofu Fritatta

Garden Pea Tofu Fritatta

Scrambled – Every which way

Scrambled eggs are amazing when done well. After much experimenting I have found my perfect technique using a frying pan instead of a saucepan, a spatula instead of a wooden spoon and a bit of patience. Oh and plenty of salt and pepper! Top it with these slow roasted tomatoes and asparagus for a summery twist or some delicious Rosemary spiked mushrooms for a more autumnal feel.

Tofu scramble is a great alternative and really easy to make. You can mimic scrambled eggs well and if you have a table of multi diets you can make everyone feel involved by creating dishes that look exactly the same (as in my photos below). I also can’t help but add a tonne of spices to my tofu scramble sometimes – best served inside giant mushrooms

Asparagus and Tomatoes Scrambled Eggs

Asparagus and Tomatoes Scrambled Eggs

Tofu Scramble with Grilled Cherry tomatoes and fresh basil

Tofu Scramble with Grilled Cherry tomatoes and fresh basil

Β Pancakes – Not just for that one day a year

I personally LOVE savoury pancakes. Spinach pancakes are a great way to boost your veggie intake and also you can get a nice iron kick too. Top with grated cheese (or sheese) and these are good for breakfast/ brunch/ lunch/ dinner/ midnight snack!

Not forgetting the sweet pancake lovers, I also am getting these hugely popular flax and banana pancakes back in the limelight. They are one of my most viewed recipes and you can see why πŸ™‚ Made with just 3 ingredients they are satisfying and in my opinion they beat all other types of sweet pancakes.

Spinach Pancakes

Spinach Pancakes

Flax and Banana Pancakes

Flax and Banana Pancakes

What are your favourite egg recipes? and what are your favourite egg alternatives?

I love hearing what you all have to say!

