Musings & Contemplations

Happy St George’s Day! Traditional British Recipes

Wow, St George’s day crept up on me this year with such a late Easter! I’ve got a lot going on at the moment including a house move this weekend (again!) and planning for my Live Below the Line challenge next week. The challenge is to spend only £1 per day on food and drink for 5 days. I love my food and over the past couple of weeks I have been taking account of what I buy and realising how expensive food is! I popped into a Tesco express the other day and a small iceberg lettuce was £1, that would be a whole days budget gone for millions of people around the world who have to live on such small amounts of money.

My chosen charity is Concern Worldwide who focus on building solutions to combat world hunger. This includes running educational projects to teach people about how to spend their budget to get the best nutrition and also to build schools for children who are stuck in extreme poverty areas who cannot get to a different town. They also tackle illnesses brought on from malnutrition and donate food and food vouchers to areas where there have been conflict or natural disasters.

If you would like to sponsor me please visit www.livebelowtheline.com/me/beckycotter. I will be posting about this in more detail later this week and watch out on my facebook and twitter for meal updates and general discussions.

Anyway, to mark St George’s day I thought I would share some of my favourite Traditional British Recipes I have posted on Veghotpot over the last year. Click on the photos to view the recipe!

Baked Bramley Apple Stuffed with Cinnamon, Apple and Raisin Porridge

Baked Bramley Apple with Cinnamon and Raisin Porridge

Baked Bramley Apple with Cinnamon and Raisin Porridge

I decided to create a twist on baked apples to make it a more substantial breakfast by adding porridge and then baking it. This is a delicious sweet yet sharp dish which will set you up nicely for the day!

British Ploughmans Salad with Mushroom Pate and Lemon and Cranberry Cheese Balls

British Vegetarian Ploughmans Salad

British Vegetarian Ploughmans Salad

My favourite British Pub lunch is the ploughmans Salad, I love the variety of crisp lettuce, juicy apples, tangy pickles and creamy cheese. You can really pick and mix with this sort of salad and it is best served as a platter to share!

Vegetarian Roasted Vegetable Wellington

Roasted Veg Wellington with a Cauliflower Puree

Roasted Veg Wellington with a Cauliflower Puree

Beef Wellington is a very traditional main course in Britain so I decided to take the concept and play around with it to make it Veghotpot worthy! This is delicious served with some steamed vegetables and roast potatoes! Make mini ones as individual portions or a huge one to slice and share.

Beany Herby Bangers and Mash with Red Onion Gravy and Garden Peas

Beany Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy and peas

Beany Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy and peas

I don’t know about you but I always have green peas with my sausages and mash. They are one of those vegetables that is served with everything when you’re a child, they are great mixed in with mash and perfect to add a splash of colour to our dinner. These sausages are made from beans and are FULL of flavour.

Toad in the Hole with Extra Veggies

Gluten Free and Vegan Toad in the Hole

Gluten Free and Vegan Toad in the Hole

Not only is this toad in the hole recipe vegan AND gluten free but it is also rammed full of extra vegetables such as red onions, mushrooms and tomatoes. I can’t help but add as much veg as possible to everything I cook 🙂

Apple and Berry Crumble

Apple and Mixed Berry Crumble

Apple and Mixed Berry Crumble

I don’t have much of a sweet tooth and I don’t really post puddings on here that often but I do love a good crumble! You can change the ingredients according to season and it is perfect any time of year! Serve with lashings of custard of ice cream and you’ll be in pudding heaven.

Do you have a favourite British recipe? Do you celebrate St George’s Day with a feast?

 

7 thoughts on “Happy St George’s Day! Traditional British Recipes

  1. Pingback: Food Recipes | Food Recipes

  2. Xronia Polla to everyone celebrating today! We sang St. George’s apolytikion before leaving chapel today, and I guess I am having a small feast since vegan hotdog day (Wednesday) is back in season at one of my favorite restaurants 🙂

  3. I love learning about new holidays – I think I best celebrate it in the stares too. Everything looks delicious – and my mouth is watering over the crumble.

I love hearing what you all have to say!