Pasta

Open Mushroom Lasagna

A while ago I cooked my husband a creamy mustard chicken dish and for myself I made a similar dish but with big slices of field mushrooms and Philadelphia instead of cream. It was delicious but just looked like a big grey mess to be honest! I was annoyed because it tasted so good, so I came up with this idea of how to make it look pretty – open lasagna.

I practised the mushroom sauce a few times untill I had created a simple version of my first attempt (which had too many ingredients to really fit into the ethos of veghotpot).  I have also come up with my own twist on a white sauce as I wanted to find an alternative to cheese and milk, two things I can’t really eat, so I have used blended cauliflower which I have to say added a lovely seasonal flavour and it makes this dish super healthy!

Apart from a little bit of pan juggling this was really easy to make and it looks so impressive on the plate. In fact it’s one of the prettiest main courses I’ve made so far so I was really happy that I had the opportunity to cook it for my mum when she was staying with us.

Serves 2

2 Leeks
2 Large Field Mushrooms
2 Garlic cloves
1 teaspoon Dried Thyme
Small bunch parsley
8 florets of Cauliflower
250ml Vegetable Stock
2 tablespoon Extra Light Philadelphia (or a cream cheese of your choice)
2 teaspoon Wholegrain Mustard
4 Spinach Lasagna sheets (or of course normal if you have them)
Large handful wild mushrooms (these can be expensive so just buy enough to garnish your dish)
Teaspoon Butter or Margerine

In a large frying pan heat some oil and soften the finely sliced leeks, then add the thickly sliced mushrooms and the crushed garlic cloves with a splash of vegetable stock and reduce down on a medium heat for 5 minutes. Give it a stir every few minutes to stop it sticking to the pan.

Finely chop the stalks of the parsley and add to the pan with half the chopped parsley leaves, black pepper and thyme and cook for a further 2-3 minutes. Take the pan off the heat and put to one side.

Steam or boil the cauliflower untill soft, then puree with a little stock untill smooth. Then put it back into a saucepan with 240ml stock, the Philadelphia, wholegrain mustard, seasoning and a sprinkle of thyme. Simmer on a medium heat for 5-10 minutes and let it thicken slightly.

Pour most of the cauliflower sauce into the frying pan with the mushrooms but reserve some of the cauliflower sauce to pour over the lasagna at the end.

Saute the wild mushrooms in a little butter (I use butter here because it brings out a delicious flavour in the mushrooms, plus we can have one naughty element!).

Boil the lasagna sheets (a little oil in the water will help them not stick) untill soft but still al dente. Drain them and then cut each one in half and put to one side (these will heat up again once the sauce is added so don’t worry)

Make sure you warm your plates up for this dish (I do mine in the microwave but check your plates first). Place a sheet of lasagna in the middle of each plate and then layer the mushroom mix and pasta so each person has 4 squares of pasta. Have your top layer as pasta not the mushroom mix so you can then pour the reserved sauce over the top layer and place your wild mushrooms on top of this. (see my photo at the top)

sprinkle with a some chopped parsley leaves and a touch of black pepper.

This looks so impressive, perfect for a dinner party or family gathering 🙂

9 thoughts on “Open Mushroom Lasagna

  1. Pingback: Magic Mushrooms – The health benefits of mushrooms you may not know about! « veghotpot

  2. Pingback: 2011- What a year!! My favourite recipes and moments « veghotpot

    • You can get so many types of mushrooms too! I had fun shopping for the wild mushrooms for the topping- I stuck to a good traditional mushroom for the sauce though 🙂 glad you liked it! Thanks for commenting x

  3. I really enjoyed eating this dish and it looked very pretty too. If it was served in a resturant you would be very happy with the presentation! My labout saving tip would be that the lasagne does not need to be boiled. I always put the lasagne sheets in a baking dish, pour over boiling water, check the sheets are not sticking and leave for 10 minutes. Very occasonaly one may stick but when it is being used to build a lasagne it is not the end of the world as it cannot be seen. Thanks Becky, it was an inspiring dish.

I love hearing what you all have to say!

