Gluten Free / Lunch / Raw / Vegan

Nori Seaweed Wrap with Edamame and Wasabi Hummous and Raw Veggies

DSC_1470

Nori handrolls made easy for a light weekend lunch

I’m still coming up with ideas to use up my sushi ingredients! With my last couple of nori seaweed sheets I decided to make a wrap. I thought that if I can eat the nori wrapped around sushi rice then I can eat it instead of a flour tortilla wrap! It is kind of similar to a hand roll and I used the same technique of how to roll it up into a cone but instead of filling it with rice and pickled ginger, I filled it with home made Japanese inspired hummous and raw julienned salad veg!

DSC_1445

I love the bright green colour and the kick of wasabi!

The sea weed flavour is quite intense this way and it took a little getting used to. I can’t lie and say I preferred it to a tortilla styled wrap but I definitely felt more healthy afterwards and it was a much lighter meal!

The hummous is really easy to make and the flavour is nice and creamy with a hint of sesame oil and the classic ginger and garlic. I used edamame beans (soya beans) instead of chickpeas which went nicely with the sea weed.

Edamame and Wasabi Hummous:

Makes enough for 6 wraps

1 cup (approx 100g) Frozen Edamame/ Soya Beans – defrosted and cooked for 3-4 minutes then cooled down
2Garlic Clove – peeled and crushed
1 inch Ginger – Peeled and chopped
3-4 drops Toasted Sesame Oil
1/2 tspn Wasabi Paste (More if you like a real kick)
4-6 tblspn Water

Place everything in a blender and whizz until smooth. Start with 4 tablespoons of water and keep adding 1 tablespoon at a time until you have the desired consistency.

DSC_1457

Spread the hummous onto the seaweed halves and sprinkle on black sesame seeds

DSC_1459

Fill with your julienned vegetables

You can fill the wraps with anything you fancy including a mix of salad items or some of the sushi ingredients such as pickled ginger. I also liked the idea of filling them with quinoa or brown rice as an easy version to the sushi rice however for now I just used the following salad items:

Cucumber
Lettuce
Tomatoes
Carrots
Celery
Black Sesame Seeds

To make the wraps you need to snap a nori sheet in half (so one sheet will make 2 wraps) and spread the hummous onto each half. Sprinkle with sesame seeds if you are using them then place all the julienned salad down the centre. Roll the wrap up so it is a cone shape and serve with any left over veggies as a side salad.

This would also be nice served with a dipping sauce but I just used some sweet chilli sauce from a bottle!

DSC_1467

The assembled wraps ready to eat!

2 thoughts on “Nori Seaweed Wrap with Edamame and Wasabi Hummous and Raw Veggies

  1. Pingback: You say Houmous, I say Hummus | veghotpot

I love hearing what you all have to say!

