Musings & Contemplations

My Weird Year, a Top Ten Round up for 2013 and a Happy New Year!

Last year was a weird year for me, it started off very strong with plenty to look forward too, it became far too overwhelming in the middle and it has left me feeling like I need to pick up the pieces, dust myself off and get back on track at the end. To be honest I feel a little chewed up and spat out by 2013!

Moving house just threw me off completely, which took me by surprise. I’m quite an organised person but since moving I have struggled to get any routine going in my life, especially with my blogging! I had a steady 2-3 posts a week routine until we moved and recently I found that a different kitchen and a different space to photograph in (a space which is driving me crazy) meant I lost a bit of my motivation to continue. To be honest I haven’t even really be cooking for our dinners like I used too, 2013 made me lose any inspiration to be in the kitchen.

But I have spent these last few weeks fighting to get it back because cooking is a passion of mine and I miss it. Our new kitchen is freezing, even with the heating on it retains zero heat so I am going to try and work out how to get around that! I am also going to build myself a much better area to photograph in. At my old house I had the perfect spot with big white curtains to control the light, this house doesn’t have the same so I am thinking about learning how to use some lighting equipment! After photographing a few recipes at my new spot I got so frustrated I ended up just feeling defeated and like I’d taken a step backwards, but this is a learning curve and I hope to move on and get cooking again!

The other day I decided to do something I haven’t done since moving, I got all of my cookbooks out and sat in the middle of the huge pile and just browsed, taking notes of recipes I want to make in 2014 and book marking inspiration for future veghotpot recipes. It was so much fun and made me remember how much I love love love cooking!

Lucky for me I have still, over this time, being getting lovely comments and referrals from the blogging community which has kept that spark alight even though the fire was temporarily dying. I have seen my daily views double and my subscribers increase so thank you all!

Here are the most viewed posts of 2013 (some were posted in earlier years but your still viewing them!). It always surprises me when I see the stats for most viewed recipes. Sometimes the recipes I spend hours on and are hardly noticed but the simple ideas I share are the most popular!

So happy new year! Thank you for sticking with me, thank you for reading Veghotpot and bring on a blog filled 2014!! Xxxxxx

Kohlrabi, Carrot and Radish Salad

Kohlrabi, Carrot and Radish Salad (vegan, gluten free, raw)

Butternut Squash and Peanut Curry (GF, Vegan)

Butternut Squash and Peanut Curry (GF, Vegan)

Banana and Flax Pancakes with Blueberries

Banana and Flax Pancakes with Blueberries (vegan and gf)

pies4

Spring vegetable hotpot (vegan and gluten free)

DSC_1992

Red lentil and butternut squash burgers (vegan and gf)

DSC_2517

Mushroom and lentil cottage pie (vegan and gf)

DSC_2784

Toad in the Hole (vegan and gf)

Shiitake and Nori Noodle Soup

Shiitake and Nori Noodle Soup (vegan and gf)

Beetroot, Feta and Chickpea Burger

Beetroot, Feta and Chickpea Burger

beans

Sweet potato and red pepper baked beans (vegan and gf)

19 thoughts on “My Weird Year, a Top Ten Round up for 2013 and a Happy New Year!

  1. Pingback: Summer Greens Tortilla and a hijacking | veghotpot

  2. I spent a few months on my own last year when we rescued a puppy in Spain (needed to wait for his jabs and chip before I could bring him back to Gib) and I really needed to change my cooking. Cooking for one is very different to cooking for two, so I also spent some time pouring over old cookbooks. And recently, I suddenly asked myself why I was buying bread when I am perfectly capable of making it. Easy to lose inspiration for whatever reason, but the good thing is, we can always find it and return to what we did before. Incidentally my top viewed post is also a very simple recipe – and I don’t even have a food blog – it’s olive pate, which I wrote two or three years ago!

    • I find that cooking for one (or even the two of us) means making a big dish and then eating it everyday until its finished 🙂 either that or when i’m by myself I live on stirfries. Olive pate sounds delicious! I will go and look for it now!

  3. After my daughter became veggie last year, we found your blog and have been cooking wonderful healthy recipes that the whole family enjoy! You inspired me to stop relying on ready meals and ignited a cooking spark in me, so please keep up the good work and I’m sure 2014 will bring you everything you hope for.

    • Thank you so much for commenting, it means so much to me to know I’ve helped someone 🙂 I’m so glad you have tried recipes you all enjoy and that you have found a passion for cooking. One you start you can’t stop 🙂 I am very much looking forward to the year ahead! Have a fabulous 2014 x

  4. My lovebug and I are renting a place at the moment and I don’t want to move because I’ve got the kitchen & dining lighting JUST RIGHT for photos. hehe, ohhhh, the life of a food blogger. So I completely understand your frustrations – especially right now in your winter with so much less natural light. BUT I’m so happy to hear you’ve stayed connected because of your readers and that you’ve re-ignited your passion for cooking, Becky! We need you! 🙂 Here’s to a magical new year for you, bella. xx

    • It was something I hadn’t fully considered when moving but I have learnt my lesson! I will be looking at windows and spaces for tables next time we move 🙂 bloggers like you keep me going! Thank you for the inspiration and support xxx happy new year

  5. Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep swimming, swimming, swimming. (~Dore from Finding Nemo)
    I don’t know why that popped into my head after reading your post!
    I’m bookmarking this post and I’m going to work my way down the list. These ALL look great. You must keep it up!!

    • 🙂 That’s how I felt haha!! Brilliant thankyou. I really hope you enjoy the recipes you try, do let me know what you like, dont like etc I always love feedback! 🙂

    • I am feeling ready for 2014!! I’ve already done some cooking and feeling much better, hopefully life will come together again 🙂 I hope you enjoy the peanut curry! it is a popular one 🙂 let me know what you think xx

  6. That’s the spirit! Take what you have and learn how to get the best from it. I think you just nailed the real reason for pausing for thought at the beginning of a New Year in one. We had the same overwhelmed feeling in 2013. Due to various commitments we weren’t able to spend all that much time on Serendipity Farm doing what we actually wanted to do. We were racing around satisfying other people to our own detriment. I am a great believer in starting out how you mean to finish off and your bravery in launching yourself into finding active solutions for problematic areas in your life is positively inspiring 🙂

  7. It’s been a weird year for me too – but looking forward to 2014 and what some routine and stability will bring to my life! Can’t wait to see how your year goes! Happy 2014!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

