Lunch / Meat Free Monday / Salads / Side Dishes / Vegan

Roast Potato and Coleslaw Salad: Meat Free Monday

I didn’t know what to call this to justify the matching of ingredients! When I tried to describe it to a few people they just couldn’t picture what I had in mind so I’ve kept it simple – Roast potatoes (albeit with a little extra special twist to them) and Coleslaw.

I got the inspiration for this salad from making breaded chicken for Scott, I put the chicken in a bag, add breadcrumbs and tonnes of dried herbs and garlic powder then shake it all up, bake it in the oven and serve it in a wrap with salad. I don’t miss chicken but I missed eating something breaded and spicy which wasnt just a shop bought faux chicken goujon (yuck!) and I started to think about what vegetables I could stick in the bag with all the crumby goodness that would work nicely! Well potatoes was an obvious choice, and it worked!!

For the coleslaw I’ve chosen to add apple as it really balanced out the spicy potato and the sharp salad dressing. I think this helps create a nice summery feel to the dish!

Serves 4

Roast Potatoes:

2 Large Baking Potatos
1 cup Fresh Breadcrumbs (This is about 1 slice of toast made into crumbs)
1 tspn Garlic Powder
1 tspn Mustard Seeds
Pinch Cayenne Pepper
Salt and Pepper

Scrub the potatoes then cut each potato into 8 pieces. Coat the potatoes with spray oil or olive oil and then put them in a sandwich bag and then add all of the other ingredients. Shake the bag untill the potatoes are thoroughly coated with the crumb mixture. You can do this in a bowl but I like doing it in a bag!

Put the potatoes on a baking tray spray generously with oil then roast in the oven at 180c for 30-35 minutes. I checked on mine after 20 minutes and gave them another spray of oil for good measure!

While your potatoes are cooking away make your coleslaw salad

1/2 a small white cabbage
1 Carrot
1 Apple
2 Celery sticks
2 tblspn Olive Oil
1 Lemon (Juice)
2 tblspn Cider Vinegar
1 tspn Wholegrain Mustard
1 tspn Runny Honey

Shred the cabbage, thinly slice the apple, celery and carrot. I used a peeler to get long thin ribbons of carrot for my salad but you can julienne it thinly as well.  In a small bowl or a glass mix together the olive oil, vinegar, lemon juice, mustard and honey then stir with a fork to mix it all together.

Combine the dressing with the salad items and put in a bowl to one side or on plates ready to be served. The dressing may taste quite sharp on it’s own but when you add the potatoes to the salad it all comes together very nicely!

Serve the salad by putting a pile of coleslaw in the middle of the plate then top with 4 pieces of hot roasted potato each, garnish with salad leaves and enjoy! This salad is best when the Potatoes are freshly roasted and served hot – they go abit soggy as they cool down!

8 thoughts on “Roast Potato and Coleslaw Salad: Meat Free Monday

I love hearing what you all have to say!