Appetisers/ Starters / Curry / Lunch / Meat Free Monday / Side Dishes / Vegan / Wraps/ Rolls and Tacos

Tandoori Roasted Cauliflower with Curried Yoghurt Dressing in a Naan Wrap: Meat Free Monday

Use your hands and naan to scoop up the delicious fillings then tuck in!

This is anther recipe where I had a very exact idea in my head of what I wanted to create but I wasn’t sure if the idea would translate well into real life. Fortunately I think it has, it’s a great little dish for a weekend lunch or light evening dinner. The spicy Cauliflower is the base flavour of the dish, the curried yoghurt is to add some moisture and another flavour level, the raisins and flaked almonds add bursts of sweetness and a crunch. I never used to add raisins to curries but Scott always did when he cooked a curry at uni and since then it’s become normal in our house. You can swap raisins for chopped dried apricots for an equal sweetness. You could also swap flaked almonds for cashew nuts for a slightly different texture but equally as delicious.

Cauliflower florets coated in a little bit of spray oil and some tandoori spice mix

I love roasted Cauliflower it has so much more flavour than boiling it, adding a spice like tandoori mix enhances the flavours and transforms the cauliflower to an almost meaty base which can be used in a curry, warm salad or like this – topped with curried yoghurt, garnishes and rolled up in a naan.

Naan topped with curried yoghurt, roasted tandoori cauliflower, raisins, flaked almonds, sprouted lentils and quinoa and fresh coriander

This is very much a ‘hands on’ dish, I piled all my ingredients on to a board and then used my fingers to scoop up a mixture of everything into my naan bread and rolled it up to eat. I couldn’t fit all my cauliflower into the wrap so I finished it off with a fork. Next time I would try finding a larger flatter naan bread – or making my own! You could also use a flat bread, tortilla wrap or roti to scoop up the fillings.

The curried yoghurt was very simple and would be a nice dip to accompany many Indian starters or just to scoop on to some rice to spice it up. I used soya yoghurt because, although I can occasionally eat dairy without feeling ill, yoghurt is something which really does not agree with me. I found the soya milk a fine alternative once the curry paste had been added but by its own it was a little sweet.

The different textures and flavours all complimented each other really nicely!

Serves 2

1/2 Cauliflower (roughly 4 or 5 florets each)
Sprinkle of Tandoori Spice Mix
1 Small Onion – finely diced
2 tblspn Curry Paste
3 tblspn Yoghurt (Soya)
Handful Raisins
Handful Flaked Almonds
Small Bunch Coriander
Handful sprouted lentils and quinoa (optional)
Sunflower oil for cooking (Spray variety if you have it)

Pre heat your oven to 190c (fan oven temp). Wash your cauliflower and place in a  baking tray, spray with sunflower oil (or drizzle with a little oil if you don’t have spray oil) and sprinkle generously with the tandoori spice. Roast in the oven for 15-17 minutes.

Meanwhile in a frying pan add a little sunflower oil and fry the onion untill softened, add the curry paste and continue to cook for 1 minute stirring to combine the onions and curry paste.
Put the yoghurt in a bowl and then add the curried onion mix and mix to combine completely.

Heat up a naan/ roti/ wrap and place it on a plate then top with the roasted cauliflower, yoghurt, raisins, almonds, sprouts and coriander.

Eat by wrapping up the naan with the filling or with a knife and fork. This could also be served with rice or salad instead of a naan if you wanted a low carb curried treat.

Might need a bigger naan…

I have submitted this recipe to the Weekend herb Blogging event  over at Graziana from Erbe in Cucina (Cooking with Herbs)

13 thoughts on “Tandoori Roasted Cauliflower with Curried Yoghurt Dressing in a Naan Wrap: Meat Free Monday

  1. Pingback: Cauliflower Pilau Rice | veghotpot

  2. Pingback: Guest Blogger: *Vegan Sparkles* – Whole Roasted Tandoori Cauliflower & Naan Wrap «

  3. Pingback: National Curry Week 8th – 14th October: An easy way to celebrate vegan foods! « veghotpot

  4. Pingback: VeganMoFo Tandoori Cauliflower & Cucumber Raita Wraps |  Vegan Sparkles

    • Me too the flavours go so nicely together. Let me know if you try it 🙂 thank you for all of your comments by the way! So nice to log on and see someones really looked through the blog!! xx

    • Thanks Jennifer, I love cauliflower but it’s such an under rated vegetable! I’ve used it in curries and even lasagnes before as a puree to thicken a bechamel styled sauce and it adds such a fantastic flavour 🙂 x

I love hearing what you all have to say!