Appetisers/ Starters / Burgers / Lunch / Potato / Wraps/ Rolls and Tacos

Maple and Mustard Sweet Potatoes: Bonfire Night Recipe

Bonfire night or Guy Fawkes night is one of my favourite times of year! It’s not the story behind it that I celebrate but what I love is being outside in the cold, wrapped up in a big coat, scarf and gloves drinking mulled cider or a big cup of tea, eating “bonfire foods” which consist of Jacket potatoes, Sausage baps and Candyfloss then watching the fireworks. I love the “ooohs” and “aaaahs” from the crowd, the cosy feeling of a hundred people staring at the sky together and of course the whole romance about the occasion.

Maple and Mustard Sweet potatoes in a big soft bap

I started to think about typical Bonfire Night food and my favourite was always a sticky honey and mustard sausage in a soft bap with plenty of salad. It’s the perfect food for the night because it is warm and comforting also you can just use a napkin to hold it so no need for plates. I decided to replace the sausages with sweet potatoes instead of just using veggie sausages because its much healthier for you and also I replaced the honey with maple syrup for all my vegan friends.

I’m probably in the danger zone of becoming less of a healthy website and more of a comfort food website because I keep piling things in soft white rolls (such as my vegan blt) and encouraging you to wash it all down with some beer of cider!! The thing is at this time of year, that is exactly what you should be doing!!! If this is just too much and you’re doing low carbs then I thought of you too and turned this delicious sticky sweet potato treat into a delicious salad!

Maple and Mustard Sweet Potato Autumnal Salad

For the salad I have added raisins, sunflower seeds, hazelnuts, cucumber and rocket leaves . The nuts and seeds balance out the sweetness and add a bit of bulk to the salad, also a nice contrast to the soft sweet potatoes šŸ™‚

Serves 2 giant baps or 2-3 salads

1 large Sweet Potato
2 tblspn Maple Syrup
1 tblspn Wholegrain Mustard

For the baps-
2 Soft White rolls (I used seeded)
Rocket leaves

For the salad-
Rocket leaves
Cucumber
Sunflower Seeds or Pumpkin Seeds
Hazelnuts
Raisins – soaked in some boiling water if they’re a bit dry.

Slice the Sweet potatoes into large wedges, leaving the skin on, and brush or spray with a little oil. Meanwhile, mix the maple syrup and wholegrain mustard in a bowl and put to one side.

Heat the oven to 200c and roast the sweet potato wedges for 15 minutes, then coat in the glaze and put back in the oven for 5-6 minutes untill the glaze has gone sticky and the potatoes are soft.

Serve either in a bap with some rocket leaves or chop the wedges into small pieces and scatter over your assembled salad. I haven’t put amounts for the salad because it’s up to you how much you want šŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Maple and Mustard Sweet Potatoes: Bonfire Night Recipe

  1. I just happen to have some sweet potatoes dying to be used and we completely forgot Bonfire Night yesterday! (Doesn’t help it’s only my hubby who’s British… but still, no excuses, right??) šŸ˜€ I think we’ll have to make this tonight…

    • Hey, it’s not one of the biggest events so your forgiven :)! Although all over the weekend all I could hear was fireworks, even at 1am grr. Did you make the sweet potatoes in the end? x

      • I didn’t. šŸ˜¦ looked in the freezer, no baps. Looked in the pantry, no whole grain mustard. But those things went on the shopping list! šŸ™‚ I’ll let you know what I think after I make em!

        I recall the booms and bangs all into the night when I was living there, too. Hopefully you got a bit of sleep!

I love hearing what you all have to say!