Dinner Party menus

Bonfire Night Recipes

Bonfire night, Fireworks night or Guy Fawkes night, whatever you call it, it is the time of year where the woolly hats and gloves are officially out and the food is seriously comforting!

One of my favourite things about fireworks night is getting wrapped up in loads of gorgeous winter clothing, warming up with a big cup of tea whilst walking around a muddy field and tucking in to a big jacket potato or a bowl of steaming hot soup after braving the outside to watch the fireworks.

We’ve had parties before to get everyone together at this time of year and we’ve always done hot buffet food! This is not a time for fancy little canapes or intricate looking salads, instead the perfect dishes to serve are big pots of soup, chilli or curry. Salads can be served but keep them seasonal with roasted vegetables or even warmed beans or pasta stirred through!

Here are my favourite recipes I think would be great for bonfire night, or just a chilly November night 🙂

bonfire

Beany chilli with a Jacket Potato

bonfire2

Vegan Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy

bonfire3

Maple and Mustard Butternut Squash ‘Chip Butty’

bonfire4

Root Vegetable and Red Lentil Curry

image

Spicy Roast Potato and Coleslaw Salad

bonfire6

Sausage and Rice Soup

bonfire5

Spiced Plums with Almond Cream and Amaretto

image

Vegan Banana Bread and Butter Pudding

What are your favourite bonfire night recipes?

I have started an Instagram profile today by the way so please follow me if you are on there 🙂 I am just learning the ropes so would be nice to see some familiar faces! I’m ‘veghotpot’ 🙂

14 thoughts on “Bonfire Night Recipes

  1. Yum! We had every intention of actually burning a Guy this year but after spending hours out in the hot sun finishing off our huge veggie garden we called it an early night instead. We will just have to burn a Guy later in the year for Christmas! 😉

  2. I agree with Becky …the spiced plums look delicious and have solved what I am going to serve after my moroccan feast on Christmas eve!! the maple and mustard butternut squash looks good too. I will have a go with this recipe but use one of my homegrown pumpkins & hopefully it will be as good. I will let you know!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

