Appetisers/ Starters / Gluten Free / Lunch / Tofu / Vegan / Vegan MoFo

Garden Pea Tofu Fritatta (Vegan MoFo)

DSC_2670

Perfect as a pretty, light starter with a drizzle of balsamic glaze!

I have found during this years Vegan MoFo that each British Classic I’ve featured conjures up a different childhood memory. I bought some peas in their pods to make this recipe and I was instantly transported back to summer holidays spent in Somerset (Devonshire way) when we would stay in the most beautiful pink thatched cottage which had a river running through the garden, a huge vegetable garden and a view of fields as far as you could see! It was idyllic, they even had a steam train track nearby that me and my sister would hear in the distance and run as fast as we could to the hill which over looked the track and wave frantically to the passengers. Not that they could see us because it was quite far away!

I remember picking peas and runner beans and helping my mum take them out of their pods ready for dinner, it was a time consuming job for my little hands but I really enjoyed it πŸ™‚

DSC_2619

Peas snuggled in their pods!

DSC_2624

According to Yes Peas! website, on average, everyone in Britain eats 9,000 peas per year! Peas are grown and harvested in the summer months but you can buy them frozen and enjoy them all year around! Peas are frozen around 2 hours after they are picked so buying frozen peas means you are still getting a fresh product πŸ™‚ I always have a bag of frozen peas and spinach in my freezer but I tend to avoid most other frozen veg. Did you know you can buy frozen chopped onions!!

DSC_2696

Packed full of fresh peas!

I decided to do a fritatta recipe with my British peas because this is quite a classic recipe which can be kept casual for a nice lunch or you can make mini ones and present them smartly with a drizzle of balsamic glaze and some cute pea shoots as a dinner party starter. Unlike an egg fritatta, which takes about 10 minutes to cook, these take about 40 minutes in the oven to set properly but can easily be made in advance and kept in the fridge until you need them. I reheated mine in the microwave for lunch the next day and it was just as tasty!

You can use all sorts of vegetables instead of peas, peppers, courgettes, tomatoes or herbs would make a lovely alternative!

Serves 2 (Makes 2 medium sized or 1 large fritatta)

Egg, Wheat, Gluten and Dairy Free, Vegan

I pack Cauldron Tofu (approx 400g)2 Garlic Cloves
2 tblspn Nutritional Yeast
1 tblspn Dairy Free Milk
Salt and Pepper
1 Lemon (Juice)
150g Peas (uncooked but defrosted if using frozen)
3 Spring Onions
Large Bunch Chives
Pea Shoots (optional for serving)

In a blender add the tofu, garlic, yeast, milk, seasoning and lemon juice and blend until smooth. Tip in to a bowl and add the peas, sliced spring onions, finely chopped chives then stir to mix everything together.

Heat your oven to 180c.

Pour the tofu and pea mixture into your chosen dishes (I used two pie dishes measuring approx 4-5 inches across) and place on a baking tray then into the oven for 40 minutes until golden on top and set in the middle.

Allow them to cool down in the dish slightly then tip out on to a plate making sure the nice golden side is on top! Top with a drizzle of balsamic and a bunch of pea shoots or cress or rocket leaves! This would also be lovely served with a fresh tomato salad πŸ™‚

DSC_2678

17 thoughts on “Garden Pea Tofu Fritatta (Vegan MoFo)

  1. We loved this recipe and it happens to be my first casserole type dish as a new vegan. I have been craving eggs and this dish definitely will help with that, as well as becoming a classic in my file. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Groaning at “escape-peas”! I love the Yes Peas site, especially the very very enthusiastic people in the pictures. This recipe looks really tasty, shame it’s not picnic weather any more, I’d love to take something like that.

  3. I have childhood memory envy! It sounds so ‘Railway Childrenesque’. Those frittatas look great. I’m now craving peas. Do I really eat 9000 a year? I am going to count.

    • I reckon I easily eat 9000 a year πŸ™‚ hehe I guess it does sound a bit railway children!! We spent some really fantastic summer holidays staying there πŸ™‚ lots of fond memories!

I love hearing what you all have to say!