Appetisers/ Starters / Gluten Free / Lentils / Lunch / Soup / Vegan

Carrot, Red lentil and Ginger Soup

DSC_1973

Carrot, lentil and ginger soup

I’ll be honest, I’m not a fan of blended soup and I can’t stand carrot and coriander soup…so why have I made a blended carrot soup? Because I have come up with a recipe I like and I thought I would share it for others out there who either already love blended carrot soup, or for those looking for a version which isn’t the classic carrot and coriander.

I always seem to have tonnes of carrots left over in the fridge, its so cheap to buy a big sack of them in the supermarket that is seems silly not to stock up 🙂 and soups are a great way to use them. I usually slice them up really small and leave the soup unblended but obviously this time I dug out my hand held blender and whizzed it to a silky smooth consistency.

DSC_1971

Silky smooth blended soup

Right, it’s 8pm on Friday night and I think this soup speaks for itself so I will simply leave you with this great, easy recipe. Perfect for easy lunches, light suppers and days when you need a warm comforting meal without the added calories.

Vegan, wheat and gluten free, dairy free
Serves 4- 6

8 large carrots (1kg)
2 large onions
2 sticks celery
150g (1cup) red lentils
2 garlic cloves
1 thumb size piece ginger
2 green chillies
1.5 litres gluten free vegetable stock
Large bunch parsley

Roughly slice the onion, carrots and celery and add to a large pan with a splash of olive oil. Heat until softened for around 6-8 minutes then add the crushed garlic, peeled and diced ginger, diced and deseeded chillies and lentils and give everything a really good stir.

Add the vegetable stock and stir again then put a lid on the pan and cook for 15-20 minutes until everything is softened.

Then stir in the chopped parsley and blend until smooth. Garnish with parsley and some black pepper and serve piping hot!

DSC_1975

3 thoughts on “Carrot, Red lentil and Ginger Soup

  1. Carrots, red lentils and ginger are some of my favourite ingredients at the moment so this delicious soup is going straight onto the menu. Thank you for a great idea for when dhal is too thick and you just feel like a gorgeous bowl of soup 🙂

      • I am really into red lentils at the moment. I love that they cook so quickly and are incredibly economical. Split green and yellow peas are almost as quick and I am exploring lots of recipes using all three. I have started to feel a lot more energetic since I started adding a lot of pulses into my diet…the dog has had to be chastened a few times though…no idea why he has so much gas! 😉

I love hearing what you all have to say!

