Beans/ Legumes / Gluten Free / Lunch / Soup / Tofu / Vegan / Vegan MoFo

Pea and ‘Ham’ Soup (Smoked Tofu): Vegan MoFo ‘British Classics Made Vegan’ finale!

DSC_2946

This is my final vegan mofo recipe post for 2013. Thank you for all the positive feedback and I am so glad everyone has enjoyed my theme!! I hadn’t originally planned on doing so many recipes but the more I researched the more I found recipes that I “just had to cook!”

For this final recipe I have returned to the world of soup and it’s another blended soup! I previously posted a cream of mushroom soup which is delicious and perfect for this autumnal season but this pea and ‘ham’ soup is a true classic!

Apparently this soup was often called “London Particular” due to its colour mimicking the colour of the thick smog that took over London right up to the 1960s. It’s thick texture and links to poverty inspired this cute nursery rhyme in the 1700s

Pease porridge hot,
Pease porridge cold,
Pease porridge in the pot
Nine days old.

It was a sign of poverty to eat “pease soup” (pease being the old word for pea) due to its frugal nature. Left over ham would be boiled up with dried peas and ‘stock veg’ (carrots, onion, celery) and this would be a nutritious and filling meal to feed the family for days or weeks at a time.

DSC_2951

This is an easy soup to make vegan and I promise you that the base of the soup does not leave you wanting by omitting the ham. I used green peas and yellow split peas to give a depth of flavour and to get the desired colour (a bit brighter than smog I hope!)

Serves 5-6

2 celery
1 leek
2 large carrots
1 large onion
8-10 mushrooms
2 garlic cloves
200g (1 cup) dried split peas – soak overnight in cold water in advance
1 tspn dried mixed herbs
1/4 tspn cayenne pepper (or paprika for a milder taste)
1.2 litres gluten free vegetables Stock
200g frozen garden peas
Salt and pepper
12 tblspn (approx 1 block) diced smoked tofu (2 tblspn per person)
Drizzle of oil for frying

Finely chop the celery, leeks, carrots, onion and mushrooms and fry it on a medium heat in a large saucepan in a little oil for 8-10 minutes.

You want to start getting some golden colour on the veg to bring out their flavour but if it starts to brown too quickly then add some cold water.

Crush the garlic into the pan and give it a good stir then add the dried peas (make sure you have soaked them overnight) the herbs, cayenne and vegetable stock. Stir then put a lid on, turn the heat down to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes.

Add the garden peas and put the lid back on and continue to cook for 15 minutes.

Taste it and check the split peas are soft and add seasoning to taste then blend until smooth.

To serve fry your diced smoked tofu until slightly crispy and nicely golden and sprinkle over the hot soup.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my take on some real British Classics as much as I have enjoyed cooking them!

Did I miss your favourite? Let me know and I can do a vegan version for you!

11 thoughts on “Pea and ‘Ham’ Soup (Smoked Tofu): Vegan MoFo ‘British Classics Made Vegan’ finale!

  1. Pingback: Souper Sundays! Week 2 | The Black Radish

  2. Pingback: Tofu-riffic #veganrecipehour | veganrecipehour

    • Thanks! I have absolutely no idea what to post going forward now haha, I hadn’t thought about preparing for life after vegan mofo!! I am moving house over the next 2 weeks and have a work exam so I’m thinking some nice simple recipes!

    • Smog Soup!! hehe loving the nickname, I think I will call it this from now on. I made such a huge batch of the soup I am into my second week of having it for lunch everyday 🙂

  3. I used to love pea and ham soup when I was Omni and Steve has created a gorgeous one using only smoked paprika to give it that smoky flavour. Try adding a bit to your next version and see how it changes it. Can’t get smoked tofu here but that isn’t going to stop me making this recipe. I have a soymilk machine, I have organic Aussie soybeans, I have nigari and Steve liberated his smoker from the shed about a week ago and most importantly I have the desire to make it! Smoked tofu…here we come! 🙂

I love hearing what you all have to say!